Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve become slightly obsessed with the current trend for ombre, or gradiated nails, lips and eyes. It’s such an interesting effect and after having a quick look about at some tutorials I decided to attempt a couple of looks myself. I did a gradiated gold/glitter combo on my toenails. It looks quite pretty but definitely need practice:

Image

And I wanted to try and do a subtle ombre lip, something I could wear day to day without looking too over the top. I came up with this pale lip look, using a creamy pale lip colour on the outside, a mid nude and then a darker natural colour going into the centre. I think it gives quite a natural look and is definitely wearable – I decided to give it a whirl today in the outside world and didn’t get any strange looks:

Image

The colours used were, from outside in, Avon Plumping Lip Conditioner (£6, normally £9) (although a lip conditioner, it does impart a slightly nudey colour on the lips), Avon Ultra Colour Rich Moisture Seduction Lipstick (£4.25, normally £8.50) in Nude Perfection and Anew Beauty Youth-Awakening Lipstick Satin Finish (£6.00, normally £10.50) in Glazed Almond. There is a buy 2 for £10 across the Anew range on the Avon website: http://avonshop.co.uk/

My technique was basically to do a rough line round the outside third of my lips in the palest colour, dot the mid-colour on the middle third, moving into the centre part and then use the darkest colour right in the centre of both lips, under the cupids bow. Then, it’s a case of patting the colours together with a clean fingertip until they blend nicely and you don’t have any harsh lines. You can also blend them just by smooshing your lips together a bit. Easy as pie!

Here are the swatched, darkest on the left to lightest on the rightImage

I also tried out a darker, red ombre lip look which you can see as my twitter pic: @bbeautymummy. Like the nails, it needs some work but I’m pleased enough with the nudey/natural attempt to share it on the blog. If you have a go, please share your ombre pics and the products you used with me here or via email (budgetbeautymummy@gmail.com), or twitter.

Despite the use of all Avon products, it just so happens those were the colours I had that were most suitable for the look I was attempting. This is what happens when you have family members who do Avon for a while and you’re the resident family make-up lover – you get given a lot of their stash! I’m not complaining at all, but just to be clear this post is not promoted by Avon.

Happy ombre-ing!

BM

x

